The Spam Club

» The Spam Club - Life, The Universe and Everything - Site Issues - Spam Board for everyone?
ReplyNew TopicNew Poll

Spam Board for everyone?

Posted at 02:17 on December 9th, 2004 | Quote | Edit | Delete
Dr Gumby
I just read through the version-history and feature list of the Spam Board and read things like polished admin panel, web installer and platinum version...

Will the Spam Board ever be released as free to use forum software?
-----
Being fat is no illness, but ideology
Posted at 09:24 on December 9th, 2004 | Quote | Edit | Delete
Admin
Reborn Gumby
Most of the documentation has basically just been written for me, to remind myself of the course it took. Including the random fancy names for a few versions ;)

I actually started this script as a very well documented project with well-commented code and additional help files so that even a total newbie would be able to install and use it. There are even 'upgrade scripts' which could take users from one major version to the next (because I thought that's the easiest way to upgrade this 'official' forum in one step, in contrast to my local test board ;)).

With the last few versions, I've been slacking there a bit, though. That's where comments like 'polished admin panel' in the history come from - I had just added features to the board without providing easy frontends.

So, to make a long story short, it's already kind-of free (it just was never put under any license 'officially'). If you want it, you can have it. Mind you that the codebase is extremely dated by now, though. Most of it is hardcoded, and the database does contain quite a bit of unnecessary overhead data which wouldn't be necessary. I seriously think it's not worth building on this code anymore, thus my remarks about a rewrite being necessary if I ever get to carry on development again.
-----
Now you see the violence inherent in the system!
Posted at 09:39 on December 9th, 2004 | Quote | Edit | Delete
Dr Gumby
Quote: